Compare
How Yllo compares
Five apps a reader with a food intolerance is likely to meet, on the seven dimensions that decide which one answers their question.
The one thing none of the others combine
Apps split into two families. One tells you what to cut out: the intolerance scanners, which match a product against a restriction list. The other tells you what to eat: the nutritional scorers, which rate quality in general. Yllo does both in sequence, because that is the order recovery happens in — evict what provokes the reaction, then rebuild on minimally processed food with no additives that harm. That second step is where a diet stops shrinking, and it is the step an eviction app has no reason to carry.
What Yllo brings
Eight things, and the ratings are only the first. Every number here is counted from the database this site serves.
A graded level per food on 12 intolerance axes — none, low, moderate, high — instead of a yes-or-no match against a restriction list.
1,712 of the 2,386 ratings that warn — 72 % — name the reference they rest on, and all 2,386 carry a written note. The bibliography is a public web page: 203 references, 108 with the depth of reading recorded. No install needed to check one.
Food names in 192 languages, so an ingredient written in Polish, Arabic, Russian or Chinese resolves to the same entry as its English name.
All 927 foods are searchable for free. Looking a food up is never a paid action.
A health rating for the scanned product aimed at the gut rather than at general nutrition: sugar, ultra-processing, salt and risky additives.
The Nutri-Score, an eco-score, a vegan flag and the allergens detected in the product, shown alongside.
A Wellness Path in two steps: evict what provokes the reaction, then rebuild fibre intake — the step at which a diet stops shrinking.
Foods rather than shop shelves, so an answer does not depend on a country's barcode catalogue.
Yllo and Yuka
YucaIs this packaged product a healthy choice in general?
When to choose Yuka instead. Choose Yuka for cosmetics, which Yllo does not touch, and for its six interface languages against Yllo's four. Its single 0-to-100 number is also easier to compare across a shelf than a qualitative verdict. What it is NOT better at is rating a product's healthiness as such — Yllo does that too, on sugar, ultra-processing, salt and additives — but Yuka scores general nutrition where Yllo scores the gut, and if the general question is yours, its score answers it in one glance.
Yllo and Yuka →Yllo and Fig
Food is Good, Inc.Does this product match the restriction list I set up?
When to choose Fig instead. Choose Fig for allergens and for the sheer breadth of its restriction list — thousands of them, tuned ingredient by ingredient, with can-eat, limit and avoid set per item. Its listing credits “11+ expert dietitians” behind those ratings, and if you shop in the United States its store and restaurant coverage has no equivalent here.
Yllo and Fig →Yllo and InTolerApp
Jonah HadtDoes this product fit the intolerance profile I picked?
When to choose InTolerApp instead. The closest app to Yllo, and the honest comparison says so twice. It covers histamine, lactose, fructose, gluten, FODMAPs, salicylates, nickel and tyramine — eight of the twelve axes here — plus the fourteen major allergens, and its listing declares TEN interface languages against Yllo's four. It also scans ingredient lists as photographs, which Yllo does not, and lets you override a verdict with your own rating.
Yllo and InTolerApp →Yllo and Histamin, Fructose & Co.
Baliza GmbHWhat does this food contain, on the axis I react to?
When to choose Histamin, Fructose & Co. instead. The closest app to Yllo in shape — a food table rather than a product scanner — and it beats Yllo twice. It goes further on fructose, publishing glucose and sucrose beside it, the fructose-to-glucose ratio and the fructose excess, which is the figure that actually decides tolerance where Yllo gives only a band. And it carries a searchable Quellenverzeichnis, a source directory, inside the app: Yllo is not the only one that names what its figures rest on.
Yllo and Histamin, Fructose & Co. →Yllo and Monash FODMAP
Monash UniversityHow large a serve of this food stays low in FODMAPs?
When to choose Monash FODMAP instead. This one is not really a rival: Yllo cites it. It is the authority on FODMAPs, its figures come from the laboratory that defined the diet, and for a per-serve threshold it is the source and Yllo is not. If FODMAPs are your only axis, buy it.
Yllo and Monash FODMAP →
The 9 dimensions
| Yllo | Yuka | Fig | InTolerApp | Histamin, Fructose & Co. | Monash FODMAP | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The question it answers | Can I eat this, with the intolerance I have? | Is this packaged product a healthy choice in general? | Does this product match the restriction list I set up? | Does this product fit the intolerance profile I picked? | What does this food contain, on the axis I react to? | How large a serve of this food stays low in FODMAPs? |
| What the answer looks like | A graded level per food and per axis — none, low, moderate, high — not a yes or no. | One score from 0 to 100 for the whole product: 60 % Nutri-Score, 30 % additives, 10 % organic certification. | A match against your list: the product works or it does not. Its own page says “Quickly see how any ingredient matches your needs based on your selections.” | Not stated on its public page | Content figures and tables with comments, rather than a single verdict. | A traffic light per food with the serve size that keeps it green — a threshold per portion, which is a different object from a content per 100 g. |
| Intolerance axes | 12 axes: FODMAPs and its four carbohydrate classes, histamine with liberators and DAO inhibitors, tyramine, salicylate, nickel, oxalates, gluten, lactose. | None as graded axes. Gluten and lactose appear as preference alerts, and its listing puts those behind the subscription. | Low FODMAP and low histamine are among the restrictions, alongside the major allergens and diets like vegan and paleo — thousands in all, as named ingredients rather than graded axes. | Histamine, lactose, fructose, gluten, FODMAPs, salicylates, nickel and tyramine, within 60+ profiles that also cover the 14 major allergens and diets. | Histamine with biogenic amines, liberators and DAO inhibitors; fructose with glucose, sucrose, the fructose-glucose ratio and fructose excess. | FODMAPs, and their carbohydrate classes within that. Not histamine, not salicylate, not nickel, not oxalates. |
| Does it rate the product's own healthiness | Yes, and aimed at the gut rather than at general nutrition: sugar, ultra-processing (NOVA group), salt and risky additives, then fibre intake as a second step. The verdict is qualitative on purpose rather than a 0-to-100 number. Nutri-Score, eco-score, a vegan flag and the allergens detected in the product are shown alongside. | Yes, and this is what it is for: one score from 0 to 100 covering general nutritional quality, additive risk and organic certification, for food and cosmetics alike. | Not stated on its public page | Not stated on its public page | Its listing sells a separate nutritional-values module, which is nutrition data rather than a health verdict on the product. | Not stated on its public page |
| What is in the database | 927 foods and ingredients, 11 124 food-axis ratings. Ingredients and additives are first-class entries, because a label is a list of them. | Packaged products and cosmetics, by barcode. | Packaged products from shop shelves, plus restaurant dishes. Its own page showed “9,514 Matching Products” across “50+ stores”. | Packaged products, by barcode and by photographing an ingredient list. | A food list of more than 1,300 foods, with tables and comments for judging tolerance. | Not stated on its public page |
| Where a rating comes from | 1 712 of the 2 386 ratings that warn — 72 % — name the reference they rest on, and every one of those 2 386 carries a written note. Across all 11 124 rows the figure is 16 %, because 927 foods times 12 axes is mostly absences, and an absence no source names is deliberately left uncited. The bibliography is a public web page rather than a screen inside the app: 203 references, 108 with the depth of reading recorded, from the full article down to the abstract alone. | Its site names EFSA, ANSES and IARC behind its additive risk scale, and its listing says ingredients get a risk level “according to the latest scientific data” without citing which. The scale is Yuka's own and the product database is closed. | Its listing says the app is “powered by millions of ingredient ratings and notes from our team of 11+ expert dietitians” — expert judgement named as such. No bibliography appears on the listing. | Its listing credits the barcode data to the Open Food Facts database under the ODbL licence, which is a provenance for the PRODUCTS. It states no reference for the intolerance ratings themselves, and no bibliography. | Its listing describes a searchable Quellenverzeichnis — a source directory — inside the app. The references are therefore named, but behind an install rather than on the open web, so nothing outside the app can link to one. | Measured in Monash University's own laboratory, which is why Yllo cites the app for per-serve thresholds and the published papers for composition per 100 g. |
| Languages a label can be read in | Food names in 192 languages, 53 458 names in all, so an ingredient written in Polish, Arabic, Russian or Chinese resolves to the same entry as its English name. 36 of those languages carry names for at least 500 foods. | Not stated on its public page | Not stated on its public page | Not stated on its public page | Not stated on its public page | Not stated on its public page |
| Reach and languages | Foods rather than shop shelves, so an answer does not depend on a country's barcode catalogue — a food has the same entry wherever it is sold. The interface itself is in four languages, English, French, Spanish and German, which is fewer than two of the apps below. | Six languages on its App Store listing: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish. | English only on its App Store listing, and oriented to grocery shelves in the United States. | Ten languages on its App Store listing: English, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Polish, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish. More than Yllo. | Four languages on its App Store listing: German, English, Dutch, Spanish. As many as Yllo, and a different set — it has Dutch, Yllo has French. | Not stated on its public page |
| What is free | All 927 foods, searchable, and the whole Wellness Path are free — looking a food up is never a paid action — with three scans a day. Payment buys unlimited scans, full history and family profiles. | Free to scan, with Premium subscriptions listed at $10 to $20. Its listing puts the search feature behind Premium, so looking a food up without scanning it is a paid action. | Free to scan, with Fig+ subscriptions listed from $5.99 a month. Its listing puts unlimited scans, multiple profiles and the grocery and restaurant discovery lists behind Fig+. | Free to download, with InTolerApp Pro subscriptions listed from $3.99 a month to $69.99 for a lifetime licence. Its listing does not say which features are gated. | Free to download, with a PRO version at €18.99 and a nutritional-values module at €3.99, both one-off purchases rather than subscriptions. | A paid app, with no free tier for the food list. |
How these facts were gathered
Every cell about another app was read from that app's own public page, linked beside its name, on the date shown. Where a page says nothing about a dimension, this one says “not stated” rather than guessing — an app may well do something its marketing page omits. Apps change; check before you decide, and tell us if a cell has gone stale.
- Yuka — Read from Yuka's own page on 2026-10-04
- Fig — Read from Fig's own page on 2026-10-04
- InTolerApp — Read from InTolerApp's own page on 2026-10-04
- Histamin, Fructose & Co. — Read from Histamin, Fructose & Co.'s own page on 2026-10-04
- Monash FODMAP — Read from Monash FODMAP's own page on 2026-10-04
Check any product in seconds
Scan a barcode with the Yllo app to instantly see whether a product is a problem for your intolerance.