Compare
Yllo and Monash FODMAP
What each one is for, where they differ, and when Monash FODMAP is the better choice.
Can I eat this, with the intolerance I have?
How large a serve of this food stays low in FODMAPs?
When to choose Monash FODMAP instead
This one is not really a rival: Yllo cites it. It is the authority on FODMAPs, its figures come from the laboratory that defined the diet, and for a per-serve threshold it is the source and Yllo is not. If FODMAPs are your only axis, buy it.
Their page — Read from Monash FODMAP's own page on 2026-10-04
The 9 dimensions
- The question it answers
- Yllo
Can I eat this, with the intolerance I have?
Monash FODMAPHow large a serve of this food stays low in FODMAPs?
- What the answer looks like
- Yllo
A graded level per food and per axis — none, low, moderate, high — not a yes or no.
Monash FODMAPA traffic light per food with the serve size that keeps it green — a threshold per portion, which is a different object from a content per 100 g.
- Intolerance axes
- Yllo
12 axes: FODMAPs and its four carbohydrate classes, histamine with liberators and DAO inhibitors, tyramine, salicylate, nickel, oxalates, gluten, lactose.
Monash FODMAPFODMAPs, and their carbohydrate classes within that. Not histamine, not salicylate, not nickel, not oxalates.
- Does it rate the product's own healthiness
- Yllo
Yes, and aimed at the gut rather than at general nutrition: sugar, ultra-processing (NOVA group), salt and risky additives, then fibre intake as a second step. The verdict is qualitative on purpose rather than a 0-to-100 number. Nutri-Score, eco-score, a vegan flag and the allergens detected in the product are shown alongside.
Monash FODMAPNot stated on its public page
- What is in the database
- Yllo
927 foods and ingredients, 11 124 food-axis ratings. Ingredients and additives are first-class entries, because a label is a list of them.
Monash FODMAPNot stated on its public page
- Where a rating comes from
- Yllo
1 712 of the 2 386 ratings that warn — 72 % — name the reference they rest on, and every one of those 2 386 carries a written note. Across all 11 124 rows the figure is 16 %, because 927 foods times 12 axes is mostly absences, and an absence no source names is deliberately left uncited. The bibliography is a public web page rather than a screen inside the app: 203 references, 108 with the depth of reading recorded, from the full article down to the abstract alone.
Monash FODMAPMeasured in Monash University's own laboratory, which is why Yllo cites the app for per-serve thresholds and the published papers for composition per 100 g.
- Languages a label can be read in
- Yllo
Food names in 192 languages, 53 458 names in all, so an ingredient written in Polish, Arabic, Russian or Chinese resolves to the same entry as its English name. 36 of those languages carry names for at least 500 foods.
Monash FODMAPNot stated on its public page
- Reach and languages
- Yllo
Foods rather than shop shelves, so an answer does not depend on a country's barcode catalogue — a food has the same entry wherever it is sold. The interface itself is in four languages, English, French, Spanish and German, which is fewer than two of the apps below.
Monash FODMAPNot stated on its public page
- What is free
- Yllo
All 927 foods, searchable, and the whole Wellness Path are free — looking a food up is never a paid action — with three scans a day. Payment buys unlimited scans, full history and family profiles.
Monash FODMAPA paid app, with no free tier for the food list.
How these facts were gathered
Every cell about another app was read from that app's own public page, linked beside its name, on the date shown. Where a page says nothing about a dimension, this one says “not stated” rather than guessing — an app may well do something its marketing page omits. Apps change; check before you decide, and tell us if a cell has gone stale.
Frequently asked questions
Is Yllo a replacement for Monash FODMAP?
Not always. This one is not really a rival: Yllo cites it. It is the authority on FODMAPs, its figures come from the laboratory that defined the diet, and for a per-serve threshold it is the source and Yllo is not. If FODMAPs are your only axis, buy it.
What does Yllo do that Monash FODMAP does not?
Several things, and the ratings are only the first. Yllo gives a graded level per food on 12 intolerance axes instead of a yes-or-no match, and 1,712 of the 2,386 ratings that warn — 72 % — name the reference they rest on, with the whole bibliography on a public web page readable without installing anything. It holds food names in 192 languages, so an ingredient written in Polish or Arabic resolves like its English name. All 927 foods are searchable for free and looking one up is never a paid action. It also rates the scanned product itself for gut health — sugar, ultra-processing, salt and risky additives — shows the Nutri-Score, an eco-score, a vegan flag and the allergens detected, and carries a two-step Wellness Path: evict what provokes the reaction, then rebuild fibre intake.
How many foods does Yllo cover?
927 foods and ingredients, each rated on 12 axes, which is 11,124 ratings in all. Additives and ingredients get their own entries, because a label is a list of them.
Check any product in seconds
Scan a barcode with the Yllo app to instantly see whether a product is a problem for your intolerance.