Compare

Yllo and Fig

What each one is for, where they differ, and when Fig is the better choice.

Yllo answers

Can I eat this, with the intolerance I have?

Fig answers

Does this product match the restriction list I set up?

When to choose Fig instead

Choose Fig for allergens and for the sheer breadth of its restriction list — thousands of them, tuned ingredient by ingredient, with can-eat, limit and avoid set per item. Its listing credits “11+ expert dietitians” behind those ratings, and if you shop in the United States its store and restaurant coverage has no equivalent here.

Their page — Read from Fig's own page on 2026-10-04

The 9 dimensions

The question it answers
Yllo

Can I eat this, with the intolerance I have?

Fig

Does this product match the restriction list I set up?

What the answer looks like
Yllo

A graded level per food and per axis — none, low, moderate, high — not a yes or no.

Fig

A match against your list: the product works or it does not. Its own page says “Quickly see how any ingredient matches your needs based on your selections.”

Intolerance axes
Yllo

12 axes: FODMAPs and its four carbohydrate classes, histamine with liberators and DAO inhibitors, tyramine, salicylate, nickel, oxalates, gluten, lactose.

Fig

Low FODMAP and low histamine are among the restrictions, alongside the major allergens and diets like vegan and paleo — thousands in all, as named ingredients rather than graded axes.

Does it rate the product's own healthiness
Yllo

Yes, and aimed at the gut rather than at general nutrition: sugar, ultra-processing (NOVA group), salt and risky additives, then fibre intake as a second step. The verdict is qualitative on purpose rather than a 0-to-100 number. Nutri-Score, eco-score, a vegan flag and the allergens detected in the product are shown alongside.

Fig

Not stated on its public page

What is in the database
Yllo

927 foods and ingredients, 11 124 food-axis ratings. Ingredients and additives are first-class entries, because a label is a list of them.

Fig

Packaged products from shop shelves, plus restaurant dishes. Its own page showed “9,514 Matching Products” across “50+ stores”.

Where a rating comes from
Yllo

1 712 of the 2 386 ratings that warn — 72 % — name the reference they rest on, and every one of those 2 386 carries a written note. Across all 11 124 rows the figure is 16 %, because 927 foods times 12 axes is mostly absences, and an absence no source names is deliberately left uncited. The bibliography is a public web page rather than a screen inside the app: 203 references, 108 with the depth of reading recorded, from the full article down to the abstract alone.

Fig

Its listing says the app is “powered by millions of ingredient ratings and notes from our team of 11+ expert dietitians” — expert judgement named as such. No bibliography appears on the listing.

Languages a label can be read in
Yllo

Food names in 192 languages, 53 458 names in all, so an ingredient written in Polish, Arabic, Russian or Chinese resolves to the same entry as its English name. 36 of those languages carry names for at least 500 foods.

Fig

Not stated on its public page

Reach and languages
Yllo

Foods rather than shop shelves, so an answer does not depend on a country's barcode catalogue — a food has the same entry wherever it is sold. The interface itself is in four languages, English, French, Spanish and German, which is fewer than two of the apps below.

Fig

English only on its App Store listing, and oriented to grocery shelves in the United States.

What is free
Yllo

All 927 foods, searchable, and the whole Wellness Path are free — looking a food up is never a paid action — with three scans a day. Payment buys unlimited scans, full history and family profiles.

Fig

Free to scan, with Fig+ subscriptions listed from $5.99 a month. Its listing puts unlimited scans, multiple profiles and the grocery and restaurant discovery lists behind Fig+.

How these facts were gathered

Every cell about another app was read from that app's own public page, linked beside its name, on the date shown. Where a page says nothing about a dimension, this one says “not stated” rather than guessing — an app may well do something its marketing page omits. Apps change; check before you decide, and tell us if a cell has gone stale.

Yllo's bibliography →

Frequently asked questions

Is Yllo a replacement for Fig?

Not always. Choose Fig for allergens and for the sheer breadth of its restriction list — thousands of them, tuned ingredient by ingredient, with can-eat, limit and avoid set per item. Its listing credits “11+ expert dietitians” behind those ratings, and if you shop in the United States its store and restaurant coverage has no equivalent here.

What does Yllo do that Fig does not?

Several things, and the ratings are only the first. Yllo gives a graded level per food on 12 intolerance axes instead of a yes-or-no match, and 1,712 of the 2,386 ratings that warn — 72 % — name the reference they rest on, with the whole bibliography on a public web page readable without installing anything. It holds food names in 192 languages, so an ingredient written in Polish or Arabic resolves like its English name. All 927 foods are searchable for free and looking one up is never a paid action. It also rates the scanned product itself for gut health — sugar, ultra-processing, salt and risky additives — shows the Nutri-Score, an eco-score, a vegan flag and the allergens detected, and carries a two-step Wellness Path: evict what provokes the reaction, then rebuild fibre intake.

How many foods does Yllo cover?

927 foods and ingredients, each rated on 12 axes, which is 11,124 ratings in all. Additives and ingredients get their own entries, because a label is a list of them.

Check any product in seconds

Scan a barcode with the Yllo app to instantly see whether a product is a problem for your intolerance.