Compare

Yllo and InTolerApp

What each one is for, where they differ, and when InTolerApp is the better choice.

Yllo answers

Can I eat this, with the intolerance I have?

InTolerApp answers

Does this product fit the intolerance profile I picked?

When to choose InTolerApp instead

The closest app to Yllo, and the honest comparison says so twice. It covers histamine, lactose, fructose, gluten, FODMAPs, salicylates, nickel and tyramine — eight of the twelve axes here — plus the fourteen major allergens, and its listing declares TEN interface languages against Yllo's four. It also scans ingredient lists as photographs, which Yllo does not, and lets you override a verdict with your own rating.

Their page — Read from InTolerApp's own page on 2026-10-04

The 9 dimensions

The question it answers
Yllo

Can I eat this, with the intolerance I have?

InTolerApp

Does this product fit the intolerance profile I picked?

What the answer looks like
Yllo

A graded level per food and per axis — none, low, moderate, high — not a yes or no.

InTolerApp

Not stated on its public page

Intolerance axes
Yllo

12 axes: FODMAPs and its four carbohydrate classes, histamine with liberators and DAO inhibitors, tyramine, salicylate, nickel, oxalates, gluten, lactose.

InTolerApp

Histamine, lactose, fructose, gluten, FODMAPs, salicylates, nickel and tyramine, within 60+ profiles that also cover the 14 major allergens and diets.

Does it rate the product's own healthiness
Yllo

Yes, and aimed at the gut rather than at general nutrition: sugar, ultra-processing (NOVA group), salt and risky additives, then fibre intake as a second step. The verdict is qualitative on purpose rather than a 0-to-100 number. Nutri-Score, eco-score, a vegan flag and the allergens detected in the product are shown alongside.

InTolerApp

Not stated on its public page

What is in the database
Yllo

927 foods and ingredients, 11 124 food-axis ratings. Ingredients and additives are first-class entries, because a label is a list of them.

InTolerApp

Packaged products, by barcode and by photographing an ingredient list.

Where a rating comes from
Yllo

1 712 of the 2 386 ratings that warn — 72 % — name the reference they rest on, and every one of those 2 386 carries a written note. Across all 11 124 rows the figure is 16 %, because 927 foods times 12 axes is mostly absences, and an absence no source names is deliberately left uncited. The bibliography is a public web page rather than a screen inside the app: 203 references, 108 with the depth of reading recorded, from the full article down to the abstract alone.

InTolerApp

Its listing credits the barcode data to the Open Food Facts database under the ODbL licence, which is a provenance for the PRODUCTS. It states no reference for the intolerance ratings themselves, and no bibliography.

Languages a label can be read in
Yllo

Food names in 192 languages, 53 458 names in all, so an ingredient written in Polish, Arabic, Russian or Chinese resolves to the same entry as its English name. 36 of those languages carry names for at least 500 foods.

InTolerApp

Not stated on its public page

Reach and languages
Yllo

Foods rather than shop shelves, so an answer does not depend on a country's barcode catalogue — a food has the same entry wherever it is sold. The interface itself is in four languages, English, French, Spanish and German, which is fewer than two of the apps below.

InTolerApp

Ten languages on its App Store listing: English, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Polish, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish. More than Yllo.

What is free
Yllo

All 927 foods, searchable, and the whole Wellness Path are free — looking a food up is never a paid action — with three scans a day. Payment buys unlimited scans, full history and family profiles.

InTolerApp

Free to download, with InTolerApp Pro subscriptions listed from $3.99 a month to $69.99 for a lifetime licence. Its listing does not say which features are gated.

How these facts were gathered

Every cell about another app was read from that app's own public page, linked beside its name, on the date shown. Where a page says nothing about a dimension, this one says “not stated” rather than guessing — an app may well do something its marketing page omits. Apps change; check before you decide, and tell us if a cell has gone stale.

Yllo's bibliography →

Frequently asked questions

Is Yllo a replacement for InTolerApp?

Not always. The closest app to Yllo, and the honest comparison says so twice. It covers histamine, lactose, fructose, gluten, FODMAPs, salicylates, nickel and tyramine — eight of the twelve axes here — plus the fourteen major allergens, and its listing declares TEN interface languages against Yllo's four. It also scans ingredient lists as photographs, which Yllo does not, and lets you override a verdict with your own rating.

What does Yllo do that InTolerApp does not?

Several things, and the ratings are only the first. Yllo gives a graded level per food on 12 intolerance axes instead of a yes-or-no match, and 1,712 of the 2,386 ratings that warn — 72 % — name the reference they rest on, with the whole bibliography on a public web page readable without installing anything. It holds food names in 192 languages, so an ingredient written in Polish or Arabic resolves like its English name. All 927 foods are searchable for free and looking one up is never a paid action. It also rates the scanned product itself for gut health — sugar, ultra-processing, salt and risky additives — shows the Nutri-Score, an eco-score, a vegan flag and the allergens detected, and carries a two-step Wellness Path: evict what provokes the reaction, then rebuild fibre intake.

How many foods does Yllo cover?

927 foods and ingredients, each rated on 12 axes, which is 11,124 ratings in all. Additives and ingredients get their own entries, because a label is a list of them.

Check any product in seconds

Scan a barcode with the Yllo app to instantly see whether a product is a problem for your intolerance.