Compare
Yllo and Yuka
What each one is for, where they differ, and when Yuka is the better choice.
Can I eat this, with the intolerance I have?
Is this packaged product a healthy choice in general?
When to choose Yuka instead
Choose Yuka for cosmetics, which Yllo does not touch, and for its six interface languages against Yllo's four. Its single 0-to-100 number is also easier to compare across a shelf than a qualitative verdict. What it is NOT better at is rating a product's healthiness as such — Yllo does that too, on sugar, ultra-processing, salt and additives — but Yuka scores general nutrition where Yllo scores the gut, and if the general question is yours, its score answers it in one glance.
Their page — Read from Yuka's own page on 2026-10-04
The 9 dimensions
- The question it answers
- Yllo
Can I eat this, with the intolerance I have?
YukaIs this packaged product a healthy choice in general?
- What the answer looks like
- Yllo
A graded level per food and per axis — none, low, moderate, high — not a yes or no.
YukaOne score from 0 to 100 for the whole product: 60 % Nutri-Score, 30 % additives, 10 % organic certification.
- Intolerance axes
- Yllo
12 axes: FODMAPs and its four carbohydrate classes, histamine with liberators and DAO inhibitors, tyramine, salicylate, nickel, oxalates, gluten, lactose.
YukaNone as graded axes. Gluten and lactose appear as preference alerts, and its listing puts those behind the subscription.
- Does it rate the product's own healthiness
- Yllo
Yes, and aimed at the gut rather than at general nutrition: sugar, ultra-processing (NOVA group), salt and risky additives, then fibre intake as a second step. The verdict is qualitative on purpose rather than a 0-to-100 number. Nutri-Score, eco-score, a vegan flag and the allergens detected in the product are shown alongside.
YukaYes, and this is what it is for: one score from 0 to 100 covering general nutritional quality, additive risk and organic certification, for food and cosmetics alike.
- What is in the database
- Yllo
927 foods and ingredients, 11 124 food-axis ratings. Ingredients and additives are first-class entries, because a label is a list of them.
YukaPackaged products and cosmetics, by barcode.
- Where a rating comes from
- Yllo
1 712 of the 2 386 ratings that warn — 72 % — name the reference they rest on, and every one of those 2 386 carries a written note. Across all 11 124 rows the figure is 16 %, because 927 foods times 12 axes is mostly absences, and an absence no source names is deliberately left uncited. The bibliography is a public web page rather than a screen inside the app: 203 references, 108 with the depth of reading recorded, from the full article down to the abstract alone.
YukaIts site names EFSA, ANSES and IARC behind its additive risk scale, and its listing says ingredients get a risk level “according to the latest scientific data” without citing which. The scale is Yuka's own and the product database is closed.
- Languages a label can be read in
- Yllo
Food names in 192 languages, 53 458 names in all, so an ingredient written in Polish, Arabic, Russian or Chinese resolves to the same entry as its English name. 36 of those languages carry names for at least 500 foods.
YukaNot stated on its public page
- Reach and languages
- Yllo
Foods rather than shop shelves, so an answer does not depend on a country's barcode catalogue — a food has the same entry wherever it is sold. The interface itself is in four languages, English, French, Spanish and German, which is fewer than two of the apps below.
YukaSix languages on its App Store listing: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish.
- What is free
- Yllo
All 927 foods, searchable, and the whole Wellness Path are free — looking a food up is never a paid action — with three scans a day. Payment buys unlimited scans, full history and family profiles.
YukaFree to scan, with Premium subscriptions listed at $10 to $20. Its listing puts the search feature behind Premium, so looking a food up without scanning it is a paid action.
How these facts were gathered
Every cell about another app was read from that app's own public page, linked beside its name, on the date shown. Where a page says nothing about a dimension, this one says “not stated” rather than guessing — an app may well do something its marketing page omits. Apps change; check before you decide, and tell us if a cell has gone stale.
Frequently asked questions
Is Yllo a replacement for Yuka?
Not always. Choose Yuka for cosmetics, which Yllo does not touch, and for its six interface languages against Yllo's four. Its single 0-to-100 number is also easier to compare across a shelf than a qualitative verdict. What it is NOT better at is rating a product's healthiness as such — Yllo does that too, on sugar, ultra-processing, salt and additives — but Yuka scores general nutrition where Yllo scores the gut, and if the general question is yours, its score answers it in one glance.
What does Yllo do that Yuka does not?
Several things, and the ratings are only the first. Yllo gives a graded level per food on 12 intolerance axes instead of a yes-or-no match, and 1,712 of the 2,386 ratings that warn — 72 % — name the reference they rest on, with the whole bibliography on a public web page readable without installing anything. It holds food names in 192 languages, so an ingredient written in Polish or Arabic resolves like its English name. All 927 foods are searchable for free and looking one up is never a paid action. It also rates the scanned product itself for gut health — sugar, ultra-processing, salt and risky additives — shows the Nutri-Score, an eco-score, a vegan flag and the allergens detected, and carries a two-step Wellness Path: evict what provokes the reaction, then rebuild fibre intake.
How many foods does Yllo cover?
927 foods and ingredients, each rated on 12 axes, which is 11,124 ratings in all. Additives and ingredients get their own entries, because a label is a list of them.
Check any product in seconds
Scan a barcode with the Yllo app to instantly see whether a product is a problem for your intolerance.